PDA

View Full Version : Pot odds

10-18-2001, 02:48 PM
Imagine a simple betting game. In each round of betting players have to put in 1 unit to stay in the game. With ten players, at the end of the first round of betting, there will be 10 units in the pot. At the start of the second round of betting, player number one considers the pot odds... According to poker players he puts in 1 unit to win 10 units - so the pot odds are 10 to 1.

But if he won the game at this point he would win 9 units having risked 2 units - odds of 9 to 2. Why do you ignore money already put in the pot? If the player lost at this point he would definitely be losing 2 units and if he won he would definitely be winning 9 units. I am new to poker and have just started studying "The Theory of Poker".

10-18-2001, 04:06 PM
Basically when you agree to play this game at the beginning you play with the assumption that that there will be one of two outcomes:

1. You lose and get nothing.

2. You win and get the entire pot.

You can't stop part way through and decide you don't want to play anymore and take back money you have already put in.

By putting money in on each round it is no longer yours. It now belongs to the pot and anyone in the game can win it including you.

Each time it is your turn you are faced with a decision. Do you give up the game and lose, or do you bet a unit for a chance to win the pot?

In your example you have an opportunity to quit the game and get nothing or bet a unit for a chance to win 10. You can't think of how much money in the pot was originally yours because it isn't yours any more and so it doesn't matter.

"If the player lost at this point he would definitely be losing 2 units and if he won he would definitely be winning 9 units."