PDA

View Full Version : AK on button facing a raise - PP $50 NL

JrJordan
09-06-2004, 02:13 AM
After an unsuccessful attempt at the 6-max games, I'm on my way back to the full ringers and experimenting with a few new ideas. One of these is to cold call a raise with AKs when you have position. You can make a killing against AQ or AJ when an A hits, as well as get out relatively cheaply when you miss. Some bluffing equity may be there as well if you sense weakness from the out of position raiser. I've heard this is a good move for deeper stacks, but I decided to try it with a much shallower party stack. I'm new at the table so no read on the villain. Table in general is typical party preflop, and relatively aggressive postflop.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $1 BB (10 handed)

CO ($48)
Hero ($47)
SB ($138.08)
BB ($100.85)
UTG ($59.50)
UTG+1 ($158.78)
UTG+2 ($133.55)
MP1 ($45.85)
MP2 ($49)
MP3 ($103.95)

Preflop: Hero is Button with K/images/graemlins/club.gif, A/images/graemlins/club.gif. CO posts a blind of $1.50.
UTG calls $1, <font color="CC3333">UTG+1 raises to $5</font>, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 folds, CO (poster) folds, Hero calls $5, SB folds, BB folds, UTG calls $4.

Flop: ($18) 6/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, K/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
UTG checks, <font color="CC3333">UTG+1 bets $8</font>, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises to $20</font>, UTG folds, <font color="CC3333">UTG+1 raises to $153.78 (All-In)</font>, Hero calls $22 (All-In).

Results and comments after some responses.

chodeman1
09-06-2004, 02:20 AM
im guessing your opponent flopped a set of sixes, unless maybe he is on a nut flush draw. By reraising preflop, you would have got your opponent to fold, and isolated yourself with the original better, allowing you to take down the pot.

JrJordan
09-06-2004, 02:38 AM