PDA

View Full Version : Are Pro Poker Players Starving?

10-07-2001, 10:50 PM
I am fairly new to poker and was surprised to learn that the average expectation of a Professional Poker player is one big bet per hour. One lousy big bet? BFD.

If you are killing a 20-40 game, and you grind out a 40 hour week (comparable to most jobs) - you will net $83,200 per year; $62,400 for 15-30; and $41,600 for 10-20. Albeit, it is probably tax-free, but without any benefits, holidays, etc.

Now, most of us love the game, but would you love sitting in a smoke filled room, mucking hand after hand with a bunch of tourists you disdain, grinding out that elusive big-bet per hour? 40 hours per week, week after week?

Is this really anyone's dream?

10-07-2001, 11:25 PM
play in Cali where there is no smoke and weaker games. Play short-handed and you will not be mucking hand after hand. Me and a couple of my friends can make over 1.5 BB/hr playing 40-80 and 80-160 so we are not exactly starving. Besides you get to make your own schedule and play whenever you want. I don't even own an alarm clock because I simply have no need. Damn life as a poker player is tough isn't it? If this isn't your dream then what the hell do you dream of doing?

10-08-2001, 01:12 AM
"grinding out that elusive big-bet per hour? 40 hours per week, week after week?

Is this really anyone's dream?"

other than the term big-bet, you could be describing any job.

-Derek

10-08-2001, 01:37 AM
Goods points Xavier. I to do not own alarm clock.

10-08-2001, 02:20 AM
Accounting was much more of a grind for me.

Starving? I had steak on Friday night. But I usually just have Fruit Loops in the morning. Well, not in the morning-- in the afternoon shortly after I wake up.

10-08-2001, 09:59 AM
for the most part, poker is not so freewheeling and entrepreneurial as people think, and more like a union job