PDA

View Full Version : WLLHE and SSH

Cerril
09-04-2004, 01:04 PM
Alright, before I knew anything (in my pre-2+2 forums days) I picked up two books to start myself off, WLLHE and HFAP.

Since I've come here all the talk is (understandably) about SSH, and there's a certain amount of derision toward WLLHE. I'm curious what the major differences are between the two books, and whether I'd be well served picking up SSH.

sublime
09-04-2004, 02:09 PM
WLLHE. I'm curious what the major differences are between the two books, and whether I'd be well served picking up SSH.

WLLH teaches you how NOT to lose. SSH teaches you how to be a "great" player.

While I am sure this thread will get at least 20 responses, the one I just gave is pretty damn accurate.

blackaces13
09-04-2004, 03:14 PM
Saying WLLHE teaches you NOT to lose implies that it will make you a break even player at best. Being that I started playing after reading WLLHE and won at a fair rate I feel that I should reassure the OP that if you read and apply the strategy in WLLHE you will show a nice profit at Party .5/1 or live 2/4-3/6 for instance.

SSH should help you squeeze out the last few drops of EV into your winrate and make you a bona-fide shark.

sublime
09-04-2004, 03:19 PM
Saying WLLHE teaches you NOT to lose implies that it will make you a break even player at best. Being that I started playing after reading WLLHE and won at a fair rate I feel that I should reassure the OP that if you read and apply the strategy in WLLHE you will show a nice profit at Party .5/1 or live 2/4-3/6 for instance.

An excellent follow up to my great post /images/graemlins/grin.gif

flair1239
09-04-2004, 06:31 PM
The main argument (that might actually be applicable) that I have heard made against WLLH; is that the style will not be successful at higher limits (because they are too passive).

That said Lee Jones acknowledges this in the book and spells out very specifically what types of games that he is refering too.