PDA

View Full Version : Tough decision preflop with KK

2PAUL2
09-03-2004, 02:34 PM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum. I've been playing on party for a couple of months now and wanted to see what people made of my decision here.

I was dealt KK in middle position in a full .50BB ring game. There was two limpers to me so i bumped it up to $4. Someone in late position called, the blinds folded along with the first limper, then the second limper pushed all in . I had only been at the table a couple of circuits and had no real read on his play and he had me covered by a few dollars. I took my full amount of time and decided that with the limp he probably had AA and i layed it down. This is the first time i have layed KK down preflop and the more i think about the more i believe i should have called. This was my reasoning at the time:

1) I had no real read on his play or poker tracker stats to help me put him on JJ,QQ,AK or even the classic party A/x.(This is also why i think it may be a bad laydown because if i do this every time someone limp reraises me all in im going to miss many opportuities to dominate JJ,QQ,AK)

2) It seemed to be like he wanted a call as when it came back to him he instantly went all in knowing there were two players to act who had already commited 4 dolars to the pot.

3) Because the play on party can be so weak you want to be playing flops against them, and there is no need to take risks in the more marginal decions such as this when you no there will much easier decions to come.

I would like to know if anyone else makes this laydown and what you think of my reasoning.

Feel free to critisise as any help is appreciated while i am still in the novice stages of the game.

Thanks in advance,

Paul

Xargque
09-03-2004, 02:54 PM