PDA

View Full Version : 60k in 60 days, Season 2 - Day 3 and 4

gonores
09-03-2004, 09:44 AM
I have a lot of farmer blood in me. I am just one generation removed from pure-bred country hicks. And we’re not talking modernized, semi-hip farmers here…we’re talking rotary phones and butter churns. “What the heck is this internet thing all about anyways” farmers. I was the first one from either side of the family to go to college, (much less actually graduate), and to this day, I and my parents are still questioned are still questioned by my grandparents on why they let their able-bodied boy waste four years of his life in the city at college while I could be working the fields and doing chores. Suffice to say, my grandparents and most of my extended family can’t really catch on to this whole poker thing, so I fudge a little when they ask what I am doing (a question usually asked with unmasked abhorrence for my “soft lifestyle”). I tell them I am an Internet Financial Consultant. That usually throws them off the career questioning track. My response is vague enough that they allow themselves to make the assumption that I just make a career out of screwing honest, hard-working people out of their money, just like every other big-city suit. Of course, in reality where my career is "professional poker player," nothing could be farther from the truth /images/graemlins/tongue.gif.