PDA

View Full Version : Backing deals

Matt24
09-02-2004, 07:38 PM
Do most players get backed get 50% of what they earn while they are risking none? I'm sure there are a lot of different deals, but what is common, I just remember hearing that on Rounders. I'm going to vegas next week and was going to play in a $300 tourney at the 4 queens classic and was hoping my dad would back me as I am not a profitable No Limit tourney player(but want to play in one big live one, I'm a limit player), but wondered what our deal should be to be fair.

Matt24
09-02-2004, 11:22 PM
anybody?

NLfool
09-02-2004, 11:31 PM
it's your dad man you guys shouldn't need anything where you're figuring out to the dollar what one should get. If he foots the whole bill and you're not a +EV deal he should get way more than 50% as you are getting a free chance at experience and his $300 is not a +EV investment. He is simply doing you a favor. If you guys both go half then obviously 1/2 is the split don't be charging your old man a percentage because you're putting in the hours.

Matt24
09-02-2004, 11:47 PM
I was just trying to figure out something fair, don't know about all the harshness. We have split a tourney before, the Full Tilt overlay. I just recently started a new biz, so I dont have money to play in the tourney, I'm just taking 500 to play low limit. (first time for me and my friends out there)

I was thinking of him taking 100% of profits unless I cash over 500% return.

NLfool
09-03-2004, 12:24 AM
sounds like a cool deal didn't mean it to come out so harsh

Blarg
09-03-2004, 12:36 AM
The "he's your dad, man" still seems to apply. If you're not a profitable NL tourney player, I can't see why you would want to risk $300 of your dad's money.

If you have that much goodwill from him that he's willing to just take a chance on an admittedly not profitable player to the tune of $300, I would wait for a much better opportunity to spend that goodwill, if spend it you must.