PDA

View Full Version : Open introduction to the forum

09-02-2001, 09:11 AM
Hi there, I have lurked both here and at RGP for about a year now while learning this game. I must say I am very impressed with these forums and would firstly like to say thank you to all those who have provided their thoughts for the benefit of people such as myself. I have a few topics I would like to start over a period, and would also like to start putting in my thoughts to existing topics and get some feedback on my thoughts.

I don't want to bore you with myself but I'll give a bit of background so you know who you are dealing with when I post.

I started playing 2 years ago after getting addicted to MASQUE WSOP game. I whooped this game, thought poker was easy and proceeded to tip-in a fair bit on a few wild trips to the nearest card room (700km's away). I figured out I was a fish but decided I would learn on my only available resource - the net. I played play money on a 2-week vacation non-stop, then cashed up on the net. Since then I have done nothing but play and study everything I could find on the net. I only want to play poker so i go to work at day, come home and build my BR. To date, I have not re-cooped the (thousands) losses, but I'm close. All I want to do is play this game so I figure I should learn as much as I can. I am in the process of building a bankroll to see if I got what it takes. Right now, I play 2/4 internet (closer to 4/8 in my currency / economy, which I see as an advantage). Now I am disciplined, keep accurate records and even a spreadsheet of opponents.

Without these forums I doubt I could have absorbed and applied so much knowledge so rapidly - I feel I got in cheap. I have only read one book, as I have issues with getting poker books to where I'm at. Though very soon I will buy them all over the net (very expensive) with my winnings.

Thanks for reading. Post to follow.

BTW, The book was "Zen And The Art Of Poker" and I highly recommend it.