PDA

View Full Version : About Mattias Anderson

Bob S.
09-02-2004, 08:04 AM
I just finished reading the long thread about Mattias Anderson and thought I would make a seperate post knowing a bit more about him and for those wondering. I've been playing with Mattias for about 2 years online at Pokerschool online (PSO). This last January I got to spend a few hours discussing poker and such with him and another player from sweden who I had won a big tournament against gaining me a rather hefty tournament sponsorship (7000 to buy into major tournies). I personally think he is a little immature for his age and it seemed to show on TV. He is a good player, young, and has a lot of potential to play tournaments in my opinion. He did have a lot to be excited about, he won his seat through bugsy's club for I believe $1 or $10 through a tier system. He's been playing lowstakes online (tournaments mostly)trying to make a living (at least this was what I had gathered talking with him, he seemed to be making just enough to get by)and after winning the buy-in he wasn't even sure he could make the trip expense-wise. He sold 50% of himself off just to have money to make the trip (sold a bit much of himself in my opinion) so he was playing for a few other people as well as himself. After reading his trip report on the PSO forum I did find him to come off as a little cocky but he just went through the biggest most important expierience of his life. A lot of people made a big deal of his celebration and I heard a lot about it during the WSOP not making any judgments until I seen it for myself. I have to say that even though I think he is a bit out of line it seems so commonplace amongst the players to get carried away celebrating over hands I'm not sure why he has gotten singled out the way he has. Overall I think Mattias is a good guy and I hope he doesn't get too full of himself. Here was the report he put up in the PSO forum upon his return home...it is long but his words exactly (h