PDA

View Full Version : Backing situation - does this make sense?

funshinebear
09-02-2004, 06:53 AM
I have someone who wants to be a longterm backer for me in live tournaments, and I want input on whether or not this is a good deal. I want a backer because the travel/hotel fees are very large....to large for my 50k bankroll to play comfortably.

The deal would work as follows...I would pay half of all my entry fees in live tournaments. My backer would pay half of my fees and pay for my room+board+travel. In return for this they would get 25% of my action.
This in itself is obviously a pretty good deal for me, however the caveat is that if I'm down money for this backer, including the living expenses, then I have to make it all up from any winnings I receive, before I can start collecting any winnings for myself.
Does this deal make sense? Is it good for me? I am a winning player, but by no means am I yet a great player, as I have very little live play experience. Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

fnord_too
09-02-2004, 09:51 AM
Let me see if I understand this. Your backer gets 25% + reimbursement for all his expenses from money you win? (When you sit down at the first tourney he is already down money.)

Here is my thinking: Make it so you both get prior losses paid out of winnings before the split, with refunds being proportional to losses.

Example: You play three tournaments with entry fees totaling 20,000. Other expenses are 10,000. At this point, you have spent 10k and your backer has spent 20k. Say in this third tournament you cash $15000. By his system, if I read it correctly, all 15K goes to him, and you still owe him 5k off the top out of future winnings (in addition to his costs associated with those furture winnings), plus you are down 10k in entry fees. By the way I describe, that 15 would get split up 10k to him and 5k to you, since he has spent 2/3 of the total money invested.