PDA

View Full Version : A Poker Expert! Part 1. Long, not necessarily important

Vince Lepore
09-01-2004, 07:17 PM
Most of this is rambling. I'm in the process of reevaluting and this helps me.

What is a poker expert? I am not a poker expert. If you read a recent post in which I imtimated that I was and you took it seriously well then you missed my "toungue in cheek."

No I'm not an expert. I learned a long time ago to qualify my answers to questions with "in my opinion" and then go ask Mason what he thinks. Mason is an expert on playing Poker. But even Mason, expert that he is, defers to David in some areas of Poker discussion. Not that he doesn't thoroughly understand the correct way to play this game it's just that I think he needs to humor that big Sklansky ego every once in a while.

O.K. let's get serious. I consider both of these guys poker experts. There are others but since this is their forum I won't get into who or who isn't an expert. What constitues an expert on poker and how you identify one is more important.

So what would you (I) look for from a poker expert? Obviously, a person must understand basic poker concepts such as hand strength, opponnent types, game types etc. Well, guess what, there are a lot of folk around, even some bad players, that understand poker at this level. Before I go any further, I guess that I should ask whether or not we (I) even need the assistance of a poker expert?

I believe that this and other similar forums go a long way in confirming that a lot of people that play poker are looking for answers. Answers that will improve their game. Well, thats true for the most part, there are some who want answers to reinforce their belief that someone is out to get them and losing is not their fault. They don't belong here. They belong on Alan Schoonmaker's couch. For those of us looking to improve, looking to be the best we can be, we, I, need expert advice.