PDA

View Full Version : Poker as a Part-Time Job - Your advise & thoughts!

Chaz
09-01-2004, 02:55 PM
I've been a fairly serious low-limit hold'em player (predominately Foxwoods $2-$4 and $4-$8) for about two years and I recently started playing for real money on PokerStars and have seen some mild success.

Now, I see a lot of promise in possibly bringing in an extra coupel hundred a week playing poker. I was wondering if there is anyone out there who does this with a structured system.

I'm a little hesitant to just throw money on the internet and gamble with it regularly without any kind of organization.

Here's what I've been doing: I've been depositing $50 on Pokerstars and then I play for a couple hours (usually at $2-4 or $3-6 limits) until I double up. I then deposit my $50 profit back into my account and call it a day.

I've been doing this the last week or so and it's been pretty much a nice side job for extra cash. I hope to make my $700 rent this month strictly by playing low-limit poker (wouldn't that be nice?)

Does anyone else have an organized method of playing poker as a part time job?

bdk3clash
09-01-2004, 03:14 PM
You should probably set aside a dedicated bankroll for online play. Downswings happen--that's what a bankroll is for. What games and limits are you playing?

EDIT: Duh, you wrote that you're playing $2-4 and $3-6 on PokerStars.

bdk3clash
09-01-2004, 03:21 PM
Wait, let me get this straight--you put $50 in your account, play $2-4 and $3-6, and you haven't lost the initial $50 yet?

bdk3clash
09-01-2004, 03:22 PM
Also, I would like to point out that I am insanely jealous of what you pay for rent.

bisonbison
09-01-2004, 03:24 PM
If you've been sitting at 2/4 and 3/6 with $50 buy-ins, you've got to stop doing that.

At 2/4, it's barely above the minimum of 12 BB you should have in front of you at all times. If you post the blinds, you're suddenly below the minimum. And for 3/6? 8BB is not enough.

balkii
09-01-2004, 03:28 PM