PDA

View Full Version : Bluffs

08-23-2002, 04:59 PM
Playing in a 15-30 game last night...I started playing hold'em approx 5 months ago, I have made enough money at the 5-10 to play at the 15-30 game for the last few weeks and have been doing pretty well there also, I made 2 bluffs and showed at the end to get called down more laterr on in the night. On one hand I showed 8,9h for a 9 high, the player I bluffed out said my 9 high was good, because he was playing 5,6 suited...I could not have said anything but I thought I would embarass him and I told him there was a 6 onthe board pretty loud so everyone at the table could hear it, he then tyried to say he didn't see the 6 on board, my plan was to basically make him try and run me down later on as pay back, it worked in reverse and he chased me on some hands he shouldn't have and caught, but I still liked the fact I got him to start chasing, does anyone else do things like this at the table to try anf throw people off of thier game?? I find it works well for me because I am only 19 and don't get much respect, good move or bad making enemies?

08-23-2002, 05:16 PM
My guess is from the description of your playing style you are getting exactly the correct amount of respect for your game.

Better luck in the future,

Jimbo

08-23-2002, 05:42 PM
Bad bad idea. Your successful bluffs win pots while your good hands (which come to infrequently anyways) only make one or two extra bets. Additionally, when you embarrass someone, they want to play better... perhaps only against you.