PDA

View Full Version : Crappy fall rerun - 60k in 60 days

gonores
08-30-2004, 03:08 PM
Nothing too creative here…I’m just doing the same thing Schneids did in May. The concept of playing a zillion hands every day for a two-month stretch is something intriguing to me personally. The motivation for submitting a diary is comes more from the outside…namely some of my online colleagues on this site urging me to offer write-ups. I love to write, but I’m less than comfortable submitting my actual win rates and my day-to-day trials and tribulations. I’d really hate to come off as a braggart, but I have to admit, the pros of keeping a diary definitely outweighed the cons in Schneids’ case, so I’ll give it a shot as well.

Background

I started playing poker in January of 2003. Since then, I have worked my way up to the 10/20 and 15/30 HE limits on Party. I mostly play shorthanded games, and I really enjoy and feel I excel at heads-up play. I graduated from Marquette University with a couple business degrees in May, and I have been playing poker professionally ever since. Initially, I planned on going back to school this fall at UW-Madison, dabbling either in theoretical mathematics or software development, but I’ve since become more compelled to start accumulating capital in order to start my own business in the very near future. There is more to the story, but I guess I need something to write about for future entries, so I’ll save the topic for a particularly boring stretch.

Why I can outperform Schneids

-Schneids had to work in an environment less conducive to poker-saturation. I live with a roommate who has been dabbling in poker for nearly a year now, and he is sympathetic toward my goal.
-I’m in a new town and I don’t know a ton of people yet, so my schedule is less hectic.
-I have a style of play that allows me to play longer hours. This is another topic for the future…suffice to say I don’t think I need to make as many critical decisions as Schneids.