PDA

View Full Version : Creating a poker face

Big Folder
08-29-2004, 08:17 PM
so i've been playing for 2 years and recently online a lot but i still have a problem keeping a poker faces at important times.

Basically when I just flopped a monster sometimes I can't help but smile and while this doesn't really matter much with the most players at the small stakes tables in B&M because they dont look around much, i figured I need to nail it down eventually.

Any tips or will i eventually be able to control myself and my poop eating grin

/images/graemlins/grin.gif (me with rockets)

Rudbaeck
08-29-2004, 08:37 PM
Botox

Big Folder
08-29-2004, 08:43 PM
its that or a ski-mask and the mask is cheaper....

Rudbaeck
08-29-2004, 08:50 PM
Actually I have the exact same problem. I've found that simple breath exercises atleast alleviate the problem.

No one can see me grinning like a chimp at my monitor though. (Well, my wife, but I'm not taking her money in poker. She keeps taking my poker money though...)

bernie
08-30-2004, 03:04 AM
Even if you flop a monster, it isn't good until they push the pot to you. I've found that as i got cracked on pretty much every hand imaginable, nothing really suprises me. So i really don't get too excited when i hit a huge pot. Also the fact that i could put it all back in in 2 hands.

Concentrate on a consistent bet motion/rhythm. Notice how you play when you don't have a monster and emulate that. Or base it off how opponents rhythms.

Just an idea to chew on

b

Tonsafun
08-30-2004, 04:37 AM
oesn’t seem like anyone has really answered the question you asked yet.

I agree with one of the posters that you don’t even need one if you’re playing low limits. There were dozens of times back when I used to play 3-6 and 4-8 when, just to screw with people, I would tell them what I had or even play with my cards up after the flop (try this sometime; the reaction is priceless). Didn’t stop them from chasing and paying me off.