PDA

View Full Version : when to fold pocket pair with overcard on board?

phifediggy
08-27-2004, 03:25 PM
i just started playing 2/4 limit and i got schooled on this hand: i had QQ in the BB and i raised to $4. got three callers. the flop came with a K and two small cards, two diamonds. third to act bets, i call and so does second to act. the turn is a small non-diamond. third to act bets, i call for $4, second guy calls. river is another blank. no flush out. i check. second guy checks. third guy fires another $4. i had thought maybe someone was on a flush draw but at this point i'm figuring one of the two have a king, so i fold, even with the pot being around $40. second guy calls. turns out he had nothing, because the third guy had JJ.... which i would've beaten had i called with my QQ. i'm just looking for general advice, e.g. when to fold or call the turn or river bet when you have a pocket pair with an overcard or two on the board.

Pubknight
08-27-2004, 03:39 PM
I wouldn't have read someone with a King, as I think a King would have raised or check raised off the flop.

Both played pretty passively, like they were on draw hands, or had pocket pairs under a king.

Your preflop raise and betting had them probably putting you on AK.

For one bet, I call on the river.
You hadn't seen anything through the action on the hand to indicate you were likely beat.

Jonny Melon
08-27-2004, 03:44 PM
The problem isn't calling or folding on the river with this hand. The problem is you check called it from the flop to the river, and you played it terribly weak-tight. Why would the guy with JJ not think he had the best hand here? Why do you automatically think a King must be out there? Why would you call the flop and turn on a made hand, only to fold to a river blank? You can't know where you stand on a hand like this by check-calling.

Jon

Keats13
08-27-2004, 03:47 PM
Preflop: fine
Flop/turn: bet out until they give you a reason not to.