PDA

View Full Version : Question Play of Hand - $1/2 @ Paradise

nomad
08-27-2004, 09:19 AM
This is a situation that occured to me yesterday, and it's bugging me. I'm somewhat new at hold 'em so please be kind if you think I played the hand terribly.

10 players and I'm the SB.
I'm dealt Kd As.
There are 2 raises in front of me and I call. I don't
reraise because I don't want to be too predictable.
Besides there are 7 people seeing the flop even with the
raises.

Flop: Ah 9s 9c ...and I don't like it.

My thought here is that any time a pair flops is that someone has hit a set or will be working a full house. I feel like I may be drawing dead here. Since so many people are seeing the flop I think it's safe to assume at least one or two others also have an A and/or a 9.

I check after the flop to try to get a read on what every one else may have. BB bets, Two others call, two others fold, and I call. Should I have raised here?

Turn = 5c

Now someone has a flush draw.

I check, BB bets, next player raises, next calls, and I fold.

River = 7s

Winning hand was 2 pair (AA99)with the winner holding Ad Qc. The pot was $46 which is pretty big for $1/2 hold 'em.

Had I stayed with the hand I would have won this, but the board scared me and I probably played like it did.

I'd appreciate any comments from you guys on how you think I should have played the hand.

Thanks.

Bez
08-27-2004, 09:25 AM
With so many seeing the flop the 99 would be scary but a raise on the flop would have been a better play - a 9 will most likely re-raise showing you where you were in the hand.

All-In
08-27-2004, 09:43 AM