PDA

View Full Version : Legends of Poker report

Dominic
08-26-2004, 06:39 PM
Okay, I went and played the $540 Super Satellite last night for the $5000 main event being held this weekend...

here's how it went...

start with T2000...blinds at 25-25...levels go up every 20 minutes...

140 people...so 14 people win a seat....sweet!

I sit down and immediately notice I have Jim McManus of "Positively Fifth Street" fame on my right and Kenna James on my left. Tobey McGuire is next to Kenna. I also recognize two others from WSOP and/or WPT broadcasts but don't remember their names...gonna be an interesting table...

Almost immediately, Kenna James busts out with AQ to somebodies JJ...he sits and watches for a few more hands, talking it up and being very funny. Seems like a nice guy.

I fold 99 pre-flop after it's raised and re-raised before it even gets to me.

Jim McManus is a cool guy and talks to me about writing (I'm a writer).

Not getting many hands here...I raise with AQ in the CO and pick up the blinds...raise a little later with AK in MP, get re-raised by a guy who was just moved to our table...I think about it a second, move all-in and the guy folds, putting me at about 3000 in chips...

I limp with 99 UTG, get two callers and an all-in...I fold.

Tobey McGuire busts out...seems a little loose...

Amir Vahedi gets moved to our table...Scotty Ngyen is playing a few tables a away, as is Men the Master...

I go card dead for the next 90 minutes...not even a picture card...one time I do get A10 UTG and for some reason I raise(!) simply because I was so excited to see a decent starting hand...I know, stupid...naturally, I get re-raised and I fold.

I'm down to T1500 and the blinds are at 100-200, ante 50...

I figure I'm pretty close to push mode if I get a decent hand...

McManus loses a sizable pot and is scrambling like me...Vahedi isn't playing many hands, for some reason...he's also short-stacked...