PDA

View Full Version : Playing TPTK...

tabish
08-26-2004, 01:55 PM
Hi everybody,

I'm new to these forums... I've been playing hold'em seriously for about nine or ten months now - like many others, I got interested after the broadcast of the 2003 WSOP. I've been doing pretty poorly. I guess I'm down several hundred bucks, but I'm definitely improving. The guys I play with regularly consider me a solid player, but my poker discipline isn't good. I'll play solid poker for a few hours, then get bored and throw away my profits and then some on a few ill-advised bluffs or chasing bad draws. I'm sure you all know how it is.

But, in any case, I've become much more serious about the game. Part of that is registering here. So, let's get down to it. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Here's a hand I've been thinking about the past day or two. I know TPTK is a pretty vulnerable hand in NL, and I've definitely lost my fair share of large pots with it. But it's often a winning hand... what do you think of my play here?

Paradise Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $0.25 BB (10 handed)

Hero ($21.25)
UTG ($45.50)
MP1 ($42.75)

Preflop: Hero is Button with Q/images/graemlins/club.gif, A/images/graemlins/heart.gif.
UTG calls $0.50, UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 folds, MP1 calls $0.50, MP2 folds, MP3 folds, CO calls $0.50, <font color="red">Hero raises to $2</font>, SB folds, BB folds, UTG calls $1.50, MP1 calls $1.50, CO folds.

Flop: ($7.25) A/images/graemlins/club.gif, K/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
UTG checks, <font color="red">MP1 bets $3.50</font>, <font color="red">Hero raises to $10</font>, UTG calls $10, MP1 calls $6.50.

Turn: ($37.25) 9/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
UTG checks, MP1 checks, <font color="red">Hero bets $9.25 (all-in)</font>, UTG calls $9.25, MP1 calls $9.25.

River: ($65) 2/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
UTG checks, MP1 checks.

Final Pot: $65