PDA

View Full Version : golfers, why name brands?

M2d
08-26-2004, 11:37 AM
granted, name brands are what the pros hit, and (you'd think) they play what's best for their games, but i've always felt better playing my components (specifically, snake eyes) clubs. My TC-01 irons feel better than any titlists or callaways I've hit, and cost a fraction of the price. with the savings on the initial purchase, I'm able to afford the shafts I want and the custom fitting (loft and lie) that I need.
also, hands down, the best drivers I've hit have been components (higher end, but components, nonetheless). I have a 9 degree stilletto driver (I didn't buy it through the informercial, but through a custom clubfitter) and a 6 degree big bang that I initially bought as a long drive toy, but has worked its way into my bag for rounds on certain courses. My next golf purchase is probably going to be a bang FU2 or SMT inception in 8.5 degree.

some people I ask say that they like to know that they have a name brand club in their hands. I have no problem with this, since the mental side is 90 percent of the game. what's your reason for playing name brand clubs?

MaxPower
08-26-2004, 11:51 AM
I think most people don't realize that high quality components exist. They probably assume that anything that is not a name brand is a cheap knockoff. I used to feel this way, until I learned about component clubs.

If they are put together well, the component clubs are as good or better than the name brands. I went to a clubfitter and bought a Wishon Grand Monarch driver that is excellent. I sent my friend to the same guy and he got a KZG Gemini Driver, which gave him much more length and accurary. He had the clubfitter make one for his dad - same thing. Now all his dad's friends want one.

I still have my Callaway X-14 irons, which I think are excellent, but if I ever replace them I will consider a component set.