PDA

View Full Version : POKI"S Poker Software/ reviewed?

PokerHorse
08-25-2004, 03:40 PM
I did a search but couldnt find a review of the recently released POKIS software from the University of Alberta.It was modeled after Sklansky's Poker theory and holdem books.
Anyone with experience with this product?

Twitch1977
08-25-2004, 04:34 PM
I have purchased this software and played it quite a bit. When I got it, I was just starting out playing hold'em I had read a few books and whatnot but I was no expert, now upon initially installing this software using their pre-configured 'main' table I was able to usually turn a small profit.

You can tweak all the bots playing all you want and I'm sure if I made a custom table with all 'strong' bots (you can adjust all sorts of sliders for each) they'd be able to stomp me like an orphan.

I won't comment much on the play of the bots because I'm no expert in poker to begin with. From what I read in another review (I forget where I saw it) the individual who sounded more experienced then me said that he thought it played quite well.

Now as far as the interface and stuff goes, it's all done in Java, is prone to crashing and will at times eat all your computer's RAM and processor to the point where you need to reboot. This happens 95% of the time if you lock your computer in 2k, XP etc then come back and unlock it.

The interface itself is good, it's easy to set different limits, preset bankrolls, you can even adjust the type of hands that are dealt, for instance you can get it to deal you only the top 20% of all possible hands etc. You can also set it to deal you a specific hand or specific board. There is a hint function which is basically another 'poki-bot' running telling you what to do.

Now the strength of poki-bot is the modelling of a player over time, the more it plays against you the better it is suppose to get, so the game allows you to store multiple profiles and all that jazz.