PDA

View Full Version : Newb Alert: Counting Outs - Need advice

Calufraxis
08-25-2004, 10:19 AM
Moderators, if this isn't the right forum, please let me know or move it to where it is appropriate.

I've been playing poker for about two months now, with no previous experience. During that time I accumulated about 4k hands and I am up about 300bb at my limit from a 250bb loss during the first 3 weeks. These are micro limits so it isn't anything out of the ordinary.

I have been earnestly studying WLLH and for the last week SSH. What I have learned in these books I truly feel is why I've had an upswing recently.

My question basically relates to counting outs to determine the values of the hands I am dealt. The books I have really put emphasis on the importance of the outs, but are really slim on the process. It may just be the neurons in my head aren't aligned yet, but I lack the confidence when it comes to counting outs in live games.

What I would like to do is post 10 hands from my last session and get a knowledgable count of the outs at the flop and turn. These are just the cards as played, including hands that I folded and without any bets shown.

----
Number--Hand---Flop---Turn---River
10173--Qd Kh---Jc 2c 4c---9s---4d
10174--7s 5c---8d As Kh---8c---Td
10175--Ks 6h---Qh Ts Qd---8s---Qc
10176--Ah Qh---8s 3h 2c---6h---7d
10181--Kd 8s---3c Jc 4c---8h---5h
10182--2d 5c---6d 5h 7d---8h---Ks
10189--Js Td---2d 3s 4d---2h---6c
10190--6s 9c---Ts 6h 8s---9d---Ac
10191--Ac Ks---4d 3c 7s---8c---8h
10192--Kh Qs---Ks 2c 5h---Qc---7h

----

My attempt at first hand:
10173 Qd Kh---Jc 2c 4c -> 3 Kings, 3 Queens, 4 Aces, 4 Tens -> 14 Outs to improve the hand. Actually, Don't want any more clubs so 2Kings, 2Q, 3A, 3T -> 10 outs to improve.

-------

So am I missing something so trivial I can't see it? Any references to basic outs counting, statistics, etc would really be appreciated. I'm good with the concept, just fuzzy with the play.

Thanks,
Cal

Evan
08-25-2004, 12:26 PM