PDA

View Full Version : Noob Water Damage

theghost
08-21-2004, 03:24 PM
I've been playing online for a couple of months, have read several of the books (HE, WLLH, TOP, SSH), read this forum frequently and post occaisionally.

I only have ~4,000 hands in PT; usually I am either playing 1 table of poker while bonus whoring, or 2 tables of poker. I've only got spare time for around 500 hands/wk.

My newbie self is struggling a bit w/ reconciling my learning process with long term expectation on plays. The correct play is often one that gets a figurative slap on the wrist (my chips getting distributed to the other players at the table) - counterintuitive.

Another problem is that I don't know whether I am a winning player (though I do consider myself a thinking player). What I do know is I am down 60BB (which is nothing in the greater scheme of things, I know).

I know my game has leaks - I'm not playing any ace or any two suited, and I'm not playing too much from the SB, but I'm far from perfect.

I would be interested to hear about any significant leaks posters here might have caught early in their game (or later) - maybe I can plug some of my own...

jd

dogmeat
08-21-2004, 11:35 PM
You are a great player, no you are not, you are good, no, gee I don't know.

Sorry, my ESP will not allow me to tell you where your leaks are. If you don't know, and don't give us a few more hints (like hand histories), NOBODY will ever know.

As far a leaks I had in my game.........still have some, but most of them I plugged by reading posts in the SS (small stakes) and posting hands and getting told how stupid I was to play my hand the way I did. That's what it takes, some guts to bare your soul.

Dogmeat /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Blarg
08-22-2004, 12:28 AM