PDA

View Full Version : Flop Top Set in Omaha Hi Lo - Flush & Low Draw on Board

TexasFight73
08-20-2004, 09:56 PM
I am new to Omaha Hi Lo and started playing some $10 tournaments on Party Poker. I am not schooled in the game but I've finished in 2nd in my past couple of tournaments.

I recently played a hand where I flopped the top set -- Jacks. I have no flush or low draw and there was a flush draw and low draw on the board. Five Callers. I am wondering how people think I should play the hand. Should I . . .

a) Play aggressively and look to bet because I have the top hand.
b) Play conservatively because I am probably playing for a split pot at best.

I'm not sure how to approach the problem. If three callers are on a flush draw, then I'm probably sitting pretty good for the high. If everyone is on low draw, then I'm probably screwed.

How do people play this type of situation? What about if there is only a low draw on the table?

Thanks in advance.

adanthar
08-20-2004, 10:06 PM
Unless you were in the blinds, you should be folding JJxx preflop for this exact reason.

On the flop, you have to play conservatively. Your hand will not be the high nuts by the river, you will be playing for half the pot something like 70% of the time, and if you don't have any other draws, you like exactly 1 turn card (the other jack.)

It also makes a difference whether you have QJJT on a J62 board or JJ96 on a J32 board. The former is probably pretty good; you'll probably want to *fold* the latter to any significant action if the turn is, say, an A or even a 4.

Disclaimer: I'm not an Omaha expert and you should really be posting this in the Omaha forum.

TexasFight73
08-20-2004, 10:31 PM
Thank you for your feedback. I agree with your assessment.

FYI, I had QJJ10 single suited in middle position with 2 callers in front of me. Virtually no pre-flop raises up until this point. Flop Came J 8 5.