PDA

View Full Version : Opponent that always complete sb...

Virox
08-20-2004, 12:59 PM
Paradise $10 No-limit SnG.
Only me and another guy left.
I have 3.000
He has 7.000
Blinds 250/500

He's better than average but a little weak tight and he completes the small blind every time no matter what, never raises preflop. He folds quite easily on the flop if he doesn't hit.

Now, what is my strategy in the big blind, what hands do I check and what hands do I raise/all-in with??

Marcotte
08-20-2004, 04:46 PM
Caveat: I'm a relative beginner, so this might not be the greatest advice, but....

Pre-flop I would push with any pair, any A or K, any Q down to about Q7 or Q8 and JT (maybe J9). I would push on almost any flop although I might check with only one overcard and no draw.

Hmm, on second thought that might be too tight. Thats only around 22 or 23% of the hands I think.... maybe you push with any paint or ten high?

For those more knowledgeable.... is it advisable to push with suited connectors? It seems to me that high cards are much better since often you and your opponent will not improve.

flytrap
08-21-2004, 12:13 AM
If he never raises pre-flop, you should definately not be pushing very often. He could have a very good hand, but if he never raises you won't know what he has. If he folds as often as you say after the flop, then the better play is to only push with your very good hands(very good being relative to the fact that it's heads up) like A9 kq, or better, or 77 or bigger pairs. Part of this strategy depends on how he'll play post flop. You said he folds a lot, but will he check-raise a lot too? Will he bet as a semi-bluff? If so, you should be pushing more often, so you don't make as many mistakes on the flop. If he plays very predictably, you shouldn't be pushing much, because you'll steal so often on the flop. People are more inclined to call before the flop, than after when they have nothing. And nothing is what he'll have more often than not.