PDA

View Full Version : Perspective

Veloso
08-19-2004, 12:47 PM
Oh my God you won't believe this!

I was at my weekly home game, and got this insane run of cards. UTG, I'm dealt K/images/graemlins/spade.gif4/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, so I fold. In the big blind I'm dealt J/images/graemlins/diamond.gif4/images/graemlins/heart.gif and am forced out by a raise. In the small blind, I get K/images/graemlins/club.gif8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif and fold. On the button, I get Q/images/graemlins/spade.gifJ/images/graemlins/spade.gif, raise it, and get two callers. Then the flop comes -- get this -- Q/images/graemlins/club.gif5/images/graemlins/spade.gif3/images/graemlins/heart.gif!!

I thought I trusted my friends, but this is too much. I'm not very good at probability, and when I tried to figure out these odds on my pocket calculator, it just says '0', which I don't think is right. But I asked my cousin (and he takes Calculus even!) and he says the odds of this happening are just about sixty million billion to one. /images/graemlins/frown.gif /images/graemlins/mad.gif /images/graemlins/mad.gif

Is my cousin right about the odds here? He's pretty good with numbers, but I hate to admit my friends have been cheating me. Have any of you seen this happen before? Should I just stop playing with my ex-friends, or should I report them to the police?

Lost Wages
08-19-2004, 01:30 PM
I had a similar experience.

Link (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=628543&page=&view=&sb =5&o=&vc=1)

Lost Wages

jtr
08-21-2004, 09:58 AM
You're obviously just running very well. /images/graemlins/wink.gif Wait until you hit the wall.

scottjack
08-21-2004, 11:51 AM
Maybe i'm missing the point, but what is so unusual about having Q,Js and flopping top pair, with no good draw to the flush?

stinkypete
08-21-2004, 09:48 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Maybe i'm missing the point, but what is so unusual about having Q,Js and flopping top pair, with no good draw to the flush?