PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions, to liven things up

flair1239
08-18-2004, 03:28 PM
I have been playing for about 5 months now. The first (3) I just screwed around at various levels and played alot of tournies.

Upon discovering this site I decided to get serious about bankroll building. I had about $400 at the time. From 7/22/04 to about 8/12/04 I worked it up to a little over $600 and I quit playing tournies.. During this time I added a 2nd table, so I could get more hands in.

The last week I have been having focus problems. I went a downswing one night and went on tilt and ended up losing $50 then blowing another $150 on tournies.

Last night I had a decent night, but felt kind of bored and ended up playing another tournie (Limit Holdem), lost that and then proceed to play about (5) $10 SNGs (OMAHA HI/lo).

I realize that this destroyes my bankroll, but here is my problem. I feel that I have become very mechanical, playing holdem. When I play (2) tables, I feel that I am not able to make good reads. I am still making a decent earn 2.2BB/100 over 7,000 hands, but I just feel stuck in a rut. When I play just one table, I then get antsy and find it hard to focus anyway because there is so much dead time. I have not had this problem before in my limited experience.

When I say bored, I don't mean like I want go do something else. It is simaliar to when you are having vanilla type sex, you would like it to be more exciting, but at the same time there is nothing else that you would rather do.

I know it is primarily a discipline issue (I also should not drink beer while I play), but I have thought of a possible solution and am looking for some feedback.