PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone here stake?

Emoney
08-10-2004, 05:45 AM
This is my first post, but i've been reading here for quite a while. i'm in the process of looking for a stake to solidify my bankroll. a friend of mine said that people here will stake on occasion so i figured there's no harm in asking. i'm in a bit of a unique situation. i had just built up my bankroll to a little under 5,200 but had some big expenses come up rather quickly that forced me to take 3000 out. my situation doesn't make sense without some back story. it may get long so hopefully you can bear with me.

i'm 22 and in my last year of college at the university of washington. i've been playing for about 4 years now, but only seriously for about 15 months, with only 8 of those months as a winning player. i had spent last fall going to school in my hometown of anchorage, ak rather than in seattle to help my parents out a little bit with the business and to help my sister in her first year of college. i was slated to go back to uw in january to start winter quarter, but my parents wanted me to stay and finish in anchorage. this wasn't what was agreed upon earlier and it led to pretty big disagreement between me and my parents. they tried to force me to stay by playing the money card. so if i wanted to go back to my school and finish then i would not only have to pay my own way, but also pay off the 20K in student debt i had already accumulated. so i went ahead and paid off the debt using my savings as well as the 11k i had won playing in the party 10/20 game. this left me completely broke, but gave me freedom to do what i felt i needed to do.