PDA

View Full Version : Hand from live tourney tonight.

Neuge
08-10-2004, 02:30 AM
I'm still fairly new to poker, so I was wondering if my reasoning is correct in this situation.

Unlimited rebuy tourney, a little over an hour in, rebuys have ended. Blinds are 100/200 with 25 ante.

From MP1 with ~3200 in chips, I look at QQ and raise to 800.

CO-1 raises all-in for 1250

CO (~2800 in chips) flat calls, though he takes a long time and looks like he's making an agonizing call.

Folded to me.

My thinking: Folding with QQ for 450 to a 3850 pot is out of the question. CO has already committed almost half his stack to the pot so he's most likely pot committed to even a push by me. With his agonizing call I'm most likely ahead of him. I've almost got the original raise covered with what I've already put into the pot. So I push.

Is this a bad move? good move? marginal? Did I even make the proper opening raise? I'm really confused about this hand. /images/graemlins/confused.gif

MissOt
08-10-2004, 03:06 AM
could he have had AA and was trying to get you to push? or only other thing i can think of is AK and he has to call when you push. unless it was JJ-TT and he couldnt fold it.

but i dont know even if you call its going to be hard to fold on the flop even with rags or an A...

im not much help but i would probably push here given the read. im also curious to here what others think though.

adanthar
08-10-2004, 03:13 AM
Others will say they like this. I don't. If you think he's pot committed now and will call anyway, why push? You're just giving him 5 cards instead of 3, and that's discounting the possibility he has aces.