PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with an erratic/impatient/easily bored personality

SmileyEH
08-09-2004, 07:09 PM
I have been playing poker for about 7 months now and have been a marginally winning player since about 2 months in. My problem is that I can't stay with one style of game for longer than a couple weeks before I completely lose focus and enter into a strange sort of tilt. I had my NL SNG phase where I played them exclusively for a decent ROI...then I got bored, started tilting, started losing and gave up on them.

I've tried limit ring with no sucess. I enjoy NL ring, but again I havent been able to play consistently for longer than a few thousand hands. I love MTT's and I think I've become a pretty decent player at them, but I doubt I could make a decent profit playing exclusively multitable tourneys.

I've been toying with the idea of setting a schedule for myself ie; planning exactly what poker I will play on a weekly basis to give myself some semblance of a routine, but I really dont know if this will be sucessful or not.

I have an extremely obsessive compulsive personality such that I will latch on to a certain activity for several months and then drop it immediately for something else - I only hope poker won't be another flash in the pan obsession.

Does anyone else experience focus issues such as mine, and if so do you have tips for me to combat my erratic nature?

thanks,

-SmileyEH

paland
08-09-2004, 11:11 PM
Wow. That describes me too. I have to walk away for a couple of days every month or so or I start playing 50% of my hands.

RPatterson
08-10-2004, 03:57 AM
I'm in exactly the same boat. Right now I am making the all your money gambit playing a NL cash game much higher than I can afford.

ACW
08-10-2004, 07:47 AM
I think sometimes your style can evolve without you being aware of it, and it changes the kind of game you're best at.