PDA

View Full Version : Something you may already know (or need to know)

theredpill
08-09-2004, 03:57 AM
Hey. I'm a newbie so if you already know this then disregard. I'm a math guy so I like to dig into the mathematics of poker. I decided to check out some of the free odds calculators on various web sites. Well, I'm not impressed. I say let the fish use those odds calculators all they want. You probably should even encourage it. I decided to make my own odds calculator using C++. Don't worry it is too slow to use online. I believe it is much more exact than the other stuff being thrown out there. I won't mention which ones I tested in case a fish drops by. (hopefully, I'm not a fish anymore or am getting there) Sometimes, my calculations were different than the free programs by 10 % . There is one popular one out there that is total bull. My calculations were almost never in line with theirs. My calculations were sometimes off by 20 to 30 %. I was calculating the win % of a hand given a 3 card flop in my program.

Ok, here is an example:

You have A /images/graemlins/spade.gif 9 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif and the flop is 10 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif K /images/graemlins/club.gif . You are playing heads-up on the flop with a guy in early position. Of course, some of these programs don't take this into consideration. One program gives you a win % of 49.8 % and your opponent 47.4 % . My calculation for this hand gave a win % of 19% and opponent 75.8 % which I believe is more accurate. Another program gave a win % of 28 %.
What do you think ? I am new at poker so I can't give you any experience from a hand like this. I just don't think those odds calculators are all they are cracked up to be. If you know a fish that uses one, tell him he's on the right track.