PDA

View Full Version : “The greatest weakness of all is the great fear of appearing weak”

zephyr
08-04-2004, 01:02 PM
I’m still rather new to SNG play, having played around 500 in the past few months. In order to accelerate my learning of the game, I’ve decided to post a number of short “essays” over the next few weeks. My hope is that in writing these posts, I will not only learn some of the material within them, but will also be privilege to a review on my thinking process by the great combined intellect of the form. So here we go, feel free to tear these posts apart, tell me I’m destined to be a life time losing player, tell me that your 10 year old nephew who plays poker for gummy bears would devour me, even tell me that I should consider taking up roulette instead, but please do tell me something, I will appreciate any and all responses.

Just as a note, all of these posts will be directed to low-limit ($5-$30) NLHE SNG’s at party.

Week 1: Weakness in Opponents

“The greatest weakness of all is the great fear of appearing weak” – Jacques Bossuel

Over and over I’ve heard how bad the general level of play at low-limit ($5-$30) SNG’s at party are. Of course I have to agree that for the most part the play is pretty poor in these tournaments, but, simply stating that the play is poor brings a player no closer to being able to defeat these weak players. Ultimately, the goal of any serious player is to be able to profit from these mistakes. However, before one can exploit these mistakes, they must first define them, which brings me to the topic of this post: what are the most common mistakes made by weak players in low limit SNG’s.