PDA

View Full Version : Likely a silly question... but one I'd like input on

lolita16
08-02-2004, 03:39 AM
As many of you know, I am relatively new to tournament poker but have undertaken it with my usual zeal. I have read about 10 books, watched probably 100 hours of televised tourneys, and this weekend played probably my 20th or so no limit event. I went into this event with a new goal... to play a mistake free tourney. I believe I accomplished this goal with one smallish mistake on a slightly too big raise with AA that got reraised by JJ.

On to the main question. I was doing very well in the Legends of Poker multi rebuy no limit event. I came prepared to rebuy once if necessary if I felt I was playing well and to add on once if necessary. At the break I had about 2500 in chips (no rebuys), and elected to add on once for an additional 500 chips for $300. (this might have also been a small mistake but I felt as if I was playing well and a bit extra wouldn't hurt. After winning the previously mentioned AA hand, I "stole" the blinds with a modest raise ($200 with the blinds at 25/50), and had accumulated about 6500 in chips when the fateful hand occurred. At this point I'm well above average chip stack, with one other stack about the same as mine and one larger stack at my table. We are down to approximately 150 players with a prize pool of about $200,000.