PDA

View Full Version : Vegas observations(long)

06-21-2002, 05:33 PM
Just got back from Vegas and as usual, had a great time. The only regret I have is not getting the time to take a lesson from Mason. By the way Mason, I appreciate your response to my e-mail and don't think your price is at all unreasonable. The next time out, I will be contacting you.

Since I just started playing at the 10-20, 15-30 level in the past year, I had not gotten the opportunity (or nerve), to play in these games my last time out. My assumption was that they would be loaded with pro's and I would go through my bankroll the first night. After reading the posts from other Vegas regulars that stated these games were very beatable in the evening, and knowing that my game is much more solid now than it was a year ago, thanks in part to this board and practice, I couldn't wait to sit in.

The Bellagio had a tournament going on , so the 15-30 games weren't as abundant as I had hoped, although I did get in one very profitable session. It was pretty cool to see some of the name players like Ferguson, Hellmuth, Seidel, etc. playing. For those of you that live there, this may not be much, but I thought it fun.

The Mirage had a good limit tourny on Wed. that I got to play in, and finnished 2 out of the money(aaaargh!), and some great 10-20 games. Any way, here are a few of my observations:

1) the 2+2ers were absolutely correct about some of the poor play at the 10-20 and 15-30 games. I posted one hand in Middle-limits as an example. If I had known this my last trip out, I wouldn't have stayed in the 6-12 game. The 8-16 game was a bit looser than some of the posters suggested, but that was only one session, and could have been the cause of not enough 15-30 tables.