PDA

View Full Version : First impressions on image. Tight or loose/aggressive

bbarker703
07-29-2004, 05:20 PM
Newbie here, read a lot of the recommended literature but less than 20 hours at the tables. I've read two different ideas on estabishing a table imagine. Mike Caro recommends looser/aggressive the first hour, whereas the author of the Little Green Hold'em Book (? Wong) recommends tight/aggressive before loosening up. From what I've seen, in the kiddie pool it doesn't appear to matter; most don't pay much attention. Intuitively, I'd agreed with Wong. Any suggestions or observations from your experiences?

bisonbison
07-29-2004, 05:51 PM
At low limits, the most important thing is that you're friendly.

Mucking Idiot
07-29-2004, 07:42 PM
[ QUOTE ]
At low limits, the most important thing is that you're friendly

[/ QUOTE ]

I couldnt disagree more. Sure, you want to be cordial. There is no reason you cant speak freindly. But make no mistake...real-money poker is war.If I am sitting at a table with you...I WANT YOU TO LOSE YOUR MONEY TO ME. If I lose I will be polite and say "nice hand", as i plot my revenge and circle like a vulture awaiting your demise.

If it's worth playing for money, it's worth giving your best game, dont practice error...otherwise play for play money.

As for image at low limits, i would play tight by default..especially as a beginer...and this will give you a tight image. The intricacies to manipulating your own image might best be saved until you develop a more solid base.

GL, have fun and remember poker is war.

ps. read some sklansky..he is "the foremost" poker theorists

astroglide
07-29-2004, 07:45 PM
attitudes like yours make low-limit games much tighter/unenjoyable.

gamblore99
07-29-2004, 08:53 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]