PDA

View Full Version : How many consecutive losing sessions tolerated before re-evaluation??

teddyFBI
07-29-2004, 11:53 AM
Although I'm relatively new to hold-em (only been playing for about 6 months, and only about 2 months online), I always considered myself a +EV player, but a string of losing sessions has made me think about re-evaluating. With my bankroll steadily climbing throughout my first 8 weeks of online play, I have lost $200-$300 in each of my last 7 days at the tables (!) (usually 4-tabling at Party and UB 3/6 tables), to nearly halve my overall profits.

I am not new to gambling psychology (I counted cards at BJ for about 5 years before switching over to poker), so I understand the variations and inevitable up and down streaks that can occur, but this latest losing streak really has me discouraged. How long a losing run do y'all think a +EV should tolerate before re-evaluating whether he is even +EV at all?

thomastem
07-29-2004, 12:06 PM
You should always re-evaluate your game.

As far as if you are a +EV or -EV player 1 week is VERY short run. Matter of fact 2 months is short run but closer to the long run than 1 week and a more reliable # as to if you are profitable or not.

pokerjo22
07-29-2004, 12:50 PM
Hi teddy,

I've played with you a lot at UB and you seem like a good player. I run into you at anything from 3/6, 4/8 or 5/10 though? I think four tabling 5/10 could cause you to have a $1.5K losing streak. The streaks online often seem so bad because they happen so quickly. Stick with it and I'm sure you'll pull through.

Lazymeatball
07-29-2004, 12:58 PM
If you aren't above even after 1400 hours, assuming a 1bb/hr earn rate at LHE, re-evaluate your play. Repeat.

scotnt73
07-29-2004, 01:02 PM