PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of taking a break from online poker

teddyFBI
07-28-2004, 01:04 PM
Have you guys found taking a break from online play every once in a while to help or hurt your game?

I only started playing online in May, but have literally played every single day for 2 months now (averaging 4-6 hours a day); yep, I'm hooked. But after losing sessions 5 out of my last 6 days (despite playing no differently - and arguably better - than before when I was a gradual and consistent winner), I'm really frustrated and thinking of taking some time away (maybe a week or two, what do you think?)

Do you think I'll come back to the tables with a fresher feel and a clear head, or that the time away will make me a little rusty?

Paul2432
07-28-2004, 01:27 PM
I would definitely take some time off.

Paul

Arnie
07-28-2004, 01:29 PM
I'm taking a break right now, Ive been playing a few home games lately, but nothing online. I got tired of it so I stopped. And I won't pick it back up until I want to play. I consider poker a very serious hobby, but if i stop enjoying it, or start getting burned out, Ill take a break from it. Unless your a pro, don't force yourself to play....you will play worse and get even more frustrated.

JRichman
07-28-2004, 02:08 PM
I find that my game changes subtlely when I am on an extended losing streak, as I start to get psychologically involved in the game. I call down just a little too much and play just a little too aggressively.

In my case, I've found that a break of even a few days helps me gather myself, and get back in the "cool and detached" state of mind that makes a winning poker player.

Of course, some players have the discipline to play the whether on a winning streak or losing streak. In those cases, a break is unlikely to help.

Since you describe yourself as "frustrated," I definitely think a break would help.

Leo Bello
07-28-2004, 02:38 PM
A break is always good. Principally because in life u need equilibrium.