PDA

View Full Version : Another World Class Player Rant

Goodie
07-28-2004, 10:48 AM
John Juanda

I've seen him play many different times and have for the most part been thouroughly impressed by how he handles himself at the table and how he plays.

However, I have to question a play he made in the stud event last night, where he called a fifth street bet with only a pair of fives, no overcards, and no draw.. I really don't think this can be right against an early (although very aggresive) raiser that could have had anything but is more likely than normal to have a real hand.

I know we don't see the whole tourney and see past hands, but in stud, I can't imagine this matters quite as much as in no limit hold em.

What does everyone else think?

Peace

Goodie

jwvdcw
07-28-2004, 11:40 AM
I'm no stud expert by any means, but it seemed as if there were a lot of calls with average pairs on 4th or 5th street last night.

Dynasty
07-28-2004, 12:04 PM
[ QUOTE ]
John Juanda
he called a fifth street bet with only a pair of fives, no overcards, and no draw.
What does everyone else think?

[/ QUOTE ]

If I remember correctly, I think Juanda was calling with the best hand at the time.

ohgeetee
07-28-2004, 12:07 PM
I think he was too, then on 5th he got a straight draw and the overcard showed up, and basically admitted he had to call it down now because the pot was so large. Not 100% sure on the higher pair coming after he made the 5th street bet but I think it did.

Goodie
07-28-2004, 12:50 PM
Having the best hand in this situation actually made no difference, because even if Marcel had nothing (which he did), that nothing could still be a significant favorite over your hand (which it was).

Now factor that in with the fact that Marcel could very easily have a real hand in that spot, and I think it has to be a clear fold.