PDA

View Full Version : variance in ring games compared to no limit tourneys

citrus
07-28-2004, 12:00 AM
Hello,

For the past year I have played $55 NL sit and go tourneys at party poker.

Have had a good amount of success.

A few weeks ago, I started playing 3/6 at party for a change of pace. I have also heard, it is a profitable game, for a good player.

Has anyone here had experience in both no limit tourneys and limit ring games.

In my 2 weeks playing 3/6, I have been sucessful enough to consider a move for good, from no limit to limit.

I have though experienced more variance in wins an losses. I play 3 games at once, and it is common to have swings of $200 plus in an hour of play. It is great when you are winning,, but of course not so great when loosing.

I have had a handfull of +$500 4 hour sessions,

The bad news is I have had some baaaad nights also.

One night I lost $650 in a 5 hour session.

I have not experienced so much variance playing no limit tourneys. Again,, I have been profitable in 3/6. I am wondering,, are swings like this normal. I thought limit would be less variable than sit and go tourneys,, however, I am believing quite the opposite.

Should I get used to this variance, or is my game lacking. I realize one can always improve their game

Also, for sit and go tourneys, I maintain a bankroll of about 40 games ($2000)

What kind of bankroll should i maintain to play 3/6,, 3 at a time?

Thank you all!

07-28-2004, 12:39 AM
Suffering consistent 100BB swings (within 4-5 hours) up and down in any limit seems a bit extreme. Whats your VP$IP and PFR% looking like?

bisonbison
07-28-2004, 12:53 AM
If you haven't been playing much limit, I think the 3/6 game is probably not the best place to start. 2/4's a bit softer and more straightforward.

As for the swings: I just moved up last week and in 3500 hands I've gone from 0 to +120BB to +40BB. It happens. That's it. If I'd gone from 0 to -80BB to 40BB, I wouldn't think about it as much.

pokerkai