PDA

View Full Version : Inane Preflop Stuff

Danenania
07-27-2004, 02:52 AM
Sorry, know this is simple, but I'm still learning NL! Plus the new forum needs some newbie post padding.

Party $50 buy-in.

Hero stack $60
SB stack $35

SB is fishy.

Hero has QQ UTG

Preflop: Hero openraises to $5, two callers in MP, SB reraises all-in, Hero folds

Standard?

warlockjd
07-27-2004, 03:42 AM
If 'fishy' includes loose preflop raising standards, I believe this is an easy all in.

Especially 6 max. With no reads on 6 max, I still think it is allin. I generally play the $100 NL game tho. Am interested in other responses.

phixxx
07-27-2004, 04:33 AM
Maybe giving the raiser a bit too much respect there ;o~

SirArthur
07-27-2004, 06:31 AM
If he's uber fishy, or has been going all in quite frequently, I call without hesitation.

This is an easy laydown against most sane opponents though.
I'd probably wait for a better opportunity to get all my money in pre-flop, because even fish get dealt A/A & K/K.

Bear in mind, I'm mostly a full ring NL player, the 6 max tables play a bit differently of course.

SkippingGoat
07-27-2004, 06:38 AM
I'm going to go ahead and agree with the fold. Pushing with three players already fairly heavily invested in the pot generally indicates AA-QQ, AK, or maybe JJ. It's definitely possible that you're ahead here but why not save your $30 for a better spot? I think a lot of people fall into the trap of saying "It's Party Poker!" and use this as an excuse for making bad plays. Unless you've seen this guy push TT-22, AQ, etc. before, I like a fold. Add to the equation that if you call you could very well get the other players to call as well which would likely throw some suited cards/overcards into the mix decreasing the probability that you take the pot down (though not neccessarily decreasing your EV). So again, I reluctantly fold but wouldn't call you crazy if you called, especially 6-handed.

Daann
07-27-2004, 07:12 AM