PDA

View Full Version : someone bring me back to reality

BIGRED
07-26-2004, 12:03 AM
I've been seriously thinking about trying poker full time, but wanted to consult some of the experienced veterans here before I make a potentially dumb move. I guess, in the end, it is my choice, and only I know what's best for me. But I would appreciate any feedbacks you guys might have. I would especially like to hear any real stories of someone gone pro, successfully or otherwise.

Just to put things into perspective for you guys... I've been playing online for about a year. I was never really serious about poker until I started playing online. The first three month were pretty rough, but since then, I haven't had a losing month. I don't know if this is just luck or if that is what most of you have also experienced, as far as not having extended losing streaks. Up until about 3 weeks ago I was playing 2/6 and decided to jump to 5/10 6-max. I like 6-max games and wanted to get to 5/10 6-max as soon as possible.

So far, it has worked out pretty well. But, I should also mention that I attempted 5/10 6-max twice before, but wasn't able to continue after having bad starts both times that put me back at 2/6. This time I got off to a quick start and haven't looked back.

I've played about 20K hands at my latest attempt at 5/10 6-max and have a win rate of 3BB per 100 hands playing 4 tables. I plan to play a LOT more to get a better gauge. If I count the two failed attempts, I'm probably just getting even now.

When I was playing 1/2 6-max and 2/4, it didn't really occur to be that poker can replace my day job. Although I was consistently winning, the amounts weren't anything close to what I'm making at my day job. But after having had this short term success, and doing some math based on BB of $10, I'm beginning to realize that if I can continue at this rate, I might be able to do this full time.