PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and a few questions

g_evans
07-24-2004, 03:40 AM
Hi everyone, I've been a lurker for a while here, and now have a few questions, so I figured i'd introduce myself at the same time.

I'm G, 19, from Australia. First became involved with poker when I was a child playing 5-card draw against family. At the beginning of this year I started playing online 7-card stud and then began to play texas hold'em as well in mid-march. I have only played with play money thus far, mostly fixed limit ring games.

I'm interested in playing for real money soon and also improving my understanding of both 7CS and HE. I can invest the time and a little money into this, so i'm willing to give it a good go and possibly take it beyond the realm of 'side hobbie'.

Ok with that out of the way, I have a few Questions ...

1. What is the goal I should be reaching for to start with?
(taking 'not losing' as a given)
Is the goal to build my bankroll to a set level (e.g. 300BB of the next limit) so I can move up in limits and until I can start playing to put money in my pocket. or
Is the goal to beat whatever limit I am playing at a certain rate (i.e. xBB/hour) before moving up in limits, to ensure I can 'beat the game' at varying levels of play and understanding?
(or is it something else entirely?)

2. If I am playing both stud and Hold'em do bankroll requirements change ?

3. I plan to play on 'stars - starting with $50 at the
$0.05/$0.10 hold'em and $0.04/$0.08 stud tables

This seems a sufficient amount to start with, is it ?
(I don't have hundreds of dollars to put into poker, being unemployed and not on any benefits or the dole)

4. Should I open a bank account solely for poker ?
My thoughts are that this would be useful.

5. Having read only online material, i'm looking at purchasing a few books, one on stud and one on hold'em.
I'd appreciate any opinions on what to choose from the following: