PDA

View Full Version : Best concerts you saw in small venues BEFORE the bands became famous

slamdunkpro
07-23-2004, 01:18 PM
Def Leppard in Hampton Shire London in 78 (350 people)
Limp Biskut in Baltimore (63 people attended)
Buck Cherry in Baltimore (50 attended)

The Rolling Stones at the Byoue in DC (they were already famous but it was a suprise walk on) 150 people

Patrick del Poker Grande
07-23-2004, 01:26 PM
I saw Zwan last year in Mesa, AZ. They would be the next great band, but they broke up before making a second album. Too bad.

Kurn, son of Mogh
07-23-2004, 01:35 PM
When I was an undergrad at Boston University in the early 70's, Aerosmith used to play for free at our dorm parties.

Ulysses
07-23-2004, 01:43 PM
[ QUOTE ]
When I was an undergrad at Boston University in the early 70's, Aerosmith used to play for free at our dorm parties.

[/ QUOTE ]

Kurn wins.

mikeyvegas
07-23-2004, 02:22 PM
I saw eminem and kidrock perform at a club in Detroit(75-100 people) before they made a name for themselves nationally.

This still isn't as cool as seeing Aerosmith perform at a dorm party for free though.

Ulysses
07-23-2004, 02:26 PM
[ QUOTE ]
This still isn't as cool as seeing Aerosmith perform at a dorm party for free though.

[/ QUOTE ]

Exactly. I had a good post all lined up but read Kurn's and decided not to bother. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Patrick del Poker Grande
07-23-2004, 02:28 PM
I saw Mozart practicing with his piano instructor when he was a little kid.

bernie
07-23-2004, 02:53 PM
Hmmm...

I'd have to say, Alice in Chains at a musicians hall in a suburb of seattle. I think it cost about $4. This was pre grunge and depression/desolation era that AIC was come to be known for. It was actually pre-Alice when they had a different name. (I still have the flyer i ripped from a phone poll)