PDA

View Full Version : Short-handed: Deficient By Definition

Al Mirpuri
07-23-2004, 12:40 AM
Where is the edge shorthanded?

The fish cannot drop a hand that's why they lose.

However, shorthanded it is right to give nearly as much action as the fish do. Their play comes nearer to being correct.

Who would play shorthanded or heads up out of choice?

Magikist
07-23-2004, 12:56 AM
I am new to shorthanded, so take my comments for what they're worth...

Your premise is faulty if it's assuming that it's correct in shorthanded play to call down with any piece of the board. Indeed, a pair is more powerful against fewer opponents. But it's still wrong to call down indiscriminately, which is a trademark of poor players.

I find that those who play shorthanded overvalue hitting the board. They become so loose preflop, truly thinking that any two can win. A HUGE edge is in the preflop game. In many full ring games I've found that even the mediocre players are more or less competent preflop. However, this is just not so at the shorthanded level. I've found opponents who routinely call raises with dominated holdings.

Postflop, players make more mistakes drawing to gutshots and seven outers where the pot odds aren't justifying a call.

Your argument is way off base. The action the fish generate shorthanded is even MORE exploitable when a good player makes the proper adjustments. More hands per hour means more mistakes per hour. It's gold.

RustyCJ
07-23-2004, 01:01 AM
Something I read said that since shorthanded play allows for more hands played per hour, you are forced to make more decisions per hour, everytime you are making better decisions than your opponent, you win.

The value of hands change drastically shorthanded, KJo for example, I pitch this in EP in a full game but on a 6 max table I will raise with it UTG.