PDA

View Full Version : For Ray Zee or other pilots

Arnie
07-22-2004, 11:30 AM
There was a link to Ray Zee's profile on another thread and I noticed he was a pilot. I'm just curious to know what type of pilot you are recreational, private? and what ratings you have pursued. Im majoring in Aeronautical Science (Professional Pilot) and love talking about flying...so are there any other pilots out there?

SpiderMnkE
07-22-2004, 01:27 PM
My dad was a pilot... suppossedly when I was 3 I flew a Sesna while my dad cleaned up puke in the back of the plane. Does that make me a pilot?

Barry
07-22-2004, 01:39 PM
Look at my avatar.

I'm an instrument rated private pilot and drive a turbocharged Piper Saratoga with an Avidyne glass panel. Some day I'll get up the energy to get my Commercial ticket even though I only fly for "fun" and not pay.

Arnie
07-22-2004, 02:01 PM
Very nice...Im still in 172s...but most they are all no more than 3 years old, with decent GPS systems. Working on my commercial ticket now, it's a lot of fun. Word of advice tho...depending on how many hours you have... you may want to find a 141 school if you deciede to do your commercial. The requirements at my school for Commercial are considerably smaller than for 61 schools

How often and where do you fly?

dirty_dan
07-22-2004, 02:03 PM
I'm a private pilot working on my instrument rating and about to start building an RV-8A (http://vansaircraft.com/public/rv-8int.htm). Unfortuntely, I have to build the tail section in my dining room as most Brooklyn apartments don't have two car garages.

If anyone has a line on a nice airpark home in Florida, let me know.

Barry
07-22-2004, 02:12 PM
I fly about 125-150 hours per year in the northeast mostly, but I make trips down to FL and New Orleans from time to time.

I have about 700 hours so it shouldn't take me too much time to get the maneuvers down and be ready for my checkride, but I'm not too excited about doing the steep spirals.

Arnie
07-22-2004, 02:55 PM