PDA

View Full Version : Help me buy a home.

Acesover8s
07-21-2004, 07:37 PM
I have recently decided to purchase a home with my girlfriend. . I have been a professional gambler for the past two years. I have enough liquid cash to put a fairly large downpayment. My credit is rebounding from childish mistakes, my girlfriend has very little income ($400/week) and poor credit.

I am interested in hearing any stories from gamblers who have recently bought a home, or advice from anyone with knowledge of the industry.

Thanks,

Aces

midas
07-22-2004, 09:22 AM
First of all - your large down payment - your home not your girlfriends!!!

We need more info - price of home, down payment amount and annual income. Also, can you document your income through tax returns?

I don't know how "gambler" would effect your loan application but you're probably trying to get enough down payment to get a low doc and no income verification loan.

Acesover8s
07-22-2004, 11:19 AM
I have not settled on a house as of yet, I am thinking something between $125k and $175k, which should buy me a decent 2000+ sq foot, 3-4 bedroom house around here.

I am able to put $40k down without significantly impaccting my bankroll, my annual income is $90k, however, while I have filed as a professional gambler, my tax returns do not reflect all of this income.

What is the difference between a no-doc or a stated income loan? Is there a certain down-payment percentage where I can be pretty much guaranteed approval? It would seem to me that the bank would love for me to put 25% down and then default immediately, so I can't see why I wouldn't be accepted.

Does having my g/f with a 'real' job on the loan help my chances?

Thanks for any help,

Aces

Nemesis
07-22-2004, 12:06 PM