PDA

View Full Version : Are these fluctuations normal?

adam61
07-20-2004, 01:36 PM
I been back to playing limit for 2 weeks now and I'm not real real confident I'm a winning player so I tend to question myself a ton right now, that goes away the more confident I am I'm winning.

I started playing Limit again with $240. I know that's not enough for 2/4 but I was basically just experimenting with 2/4 again seeing if I liked it and had no problems losing that money. Well I grew the $240 to $1250 in about 10 days. That's great I say I'm right where I wanna be. The problem is 95% of those winnings come from 2 insanely profitable sessions while the rest of the time I sit down and lose money a lot. Is this pretty normal or the sign of some bad play depending too much on luck?

Just some sample swings. Last night I played 700 hands in about 5.5 hours. I made $550. I was up $850 at one point. The 3 previous nights I played 250-400 hands and lost $80-150 each night. The night before that I made $250. And the 3 nights before that I had $100 losing sessions each night. And the day before that I made $400 on 500 hands. I just wanna know if this is pretty normal or if the big (maybe they aren't big, but big to me) streaks are a sign I'm playing poorly. My VPIP is 21% and I feel like I am decently aggressive but not as much as I need to be.

Also just as an aside I started using pokertracker again for the last 1,800 hands or so but in general what is the best way to know if you're a winning player. Is the only possible way to really know to get 50,000+ hands in PokerTracker and see if BB/100 hands is greater than 1 or are there other real good indicators you can get without playing 50k hands?

sthief09
07-20-2004, 01:43 PM
you can start to get an idea if you're a winning player, but you just don't know how much so. if I were you, I'd stay at 2/4 for a while, since it's possible you'll end up giving a lot back.