PDA

View Full Version : What are common upswings/downswings for microlimit games?

Entity
07-17-2004, 03:00 PM
I'm trying to judge if I'm just running unlucky, or playing badly. Perhaps it's both. I'm down 30BB today, and it feels like it's mostly on bad beats: QQ vs A9o (catches trip 9's on the turn), KK vs A2 (catches the wheel on the river), and other hands where I lose to someone who hits one of three outs, one of six outs (on the river), etc.

Overall, I'm down about 50BB over the last month, and I can't figure out what's going on. My premium hands are getting outdrawn, I never feel like I hit with AK, AQ, and when I do hit, it's to limited action.

I'd just like to hear from other micro players that can tell me what common up/downswings are, since I'm relatively new to the game. Any advice?

Rob

huxbux
07-17-2004, 03:07 PM
I'm relatively new myself, but I can tell you that I've have a few 30-50BB downswings in a day that have extended to a 100BB fall in 2-3 days. Then I've had 100BB upswing in a day. Playing a tight/aggressive style these are expected to some degree. Variance is and should be expected in poker, so don't let it psychologically effect how you play the game.

Georgia Peach
07-17-2004, 03:11 PM
Get used to it. The bad beats that is. Move to the next hand.

Upswings, downswings, are pretty common. Get pocker tracker and analyze your game.

LeftBack
07-17-2004, 03:23 PM
Poker Tracker's nice because it gives statistics about starting hands. But that's often misleading because you also need to know what kind of success you're having with improving your hands. Are your draws succeeding or not? That's not done very well in PT, so you have to look at it manually, I think. That will give you some idea as to how the cards are treating you.