PDA

View Full Version : Satisfying that competitive urge

davidross
07-15-2004, 02:26 PM
I wonder if anyone else has run into this. When I used to work Monday to Friday, 9 to 5, I so looked forward to playing a round of golf. I was the one booking times and rounding up a foursome. In the WInter it was curling, and agian I was the organiser, reminding the team when we played and scheduling tournaments.

In the 15 months since I started playing poker full time my desire to do either of these activities has dropped to almost zero. I played 5 games of golf last year, and none this year. I was supposed to play today, but when my daughter reminded me this morning that she needed a ride to her piano lesson I cancelled golf with no regrets.

I thought I played the game for the companionship, the excercise, and the escape, but it has become clear that golf was my chance to satisfy my competitive urge.

It's ironic that I have more spare time than ever now, but would rather use it to go to the gym, or for a bike ride, or simply to sit and read a book.

Anyone else go through this when they increased their poker hours??

WDC
07-15-2004, 02:31 PM
Yep,

I have not played a round of golf since I started playing poker regularly. Some of it is that I can't do both and still keep my marraige intact. My wife likes poker hours better than golf hours. Foe some reason she likes me around during the day but not so much at night. (hmmm) /images/graemlins/wink.gif

A lot of it is the competitve urge. I would just rather play poker.

JTrout
07-15-2004, 02:37 PM
Anyone else go through this when they increased their poker hours??

Yes.

Golf was very attractive to me as a youngster because I could compete. And the more I practiced the better I could get.

I've played golf competitively for 26 yrs. The charm/adventure/excitement of traveling has worn off.

Poker has replaced golf for me. I compete. The harder I work, the better I get.

I give golf lessons as a profession.