PDA

View Full Version : Ethical Dilemma

05-30-2002, 07:03 AM
Hi folks,

I've been working with a backer for a couple of months. It's worked out beautifully, and we've both made a nice chunk of change. My backer is a poker player himself, but he hadn't been playing in the same game as me. Last night, though, his usual game broke up early, and he came and sat in my game. I felt extremely awkward. I thought about getting up but didn't. I decided at that time that I had no conflict of interest. Winning or losing against him has exactly the same effect on my bottom line as winning or losing the same amount against any other player. He, of course, has a conflict of interest. What's strange is that when we first entered into our agreement, I thought that we had agreed that he and I shouldn't play in the same game. I occasionally will take a seat in his usual game, but only after he's left for the night.

I intend to call him today and let him know that I don't feel comfortable with him in the game, that the conflict of interest should be obvious. We've kept our arrangement between ourselves, but I think that if someone knew that I was playing with his money in the same game, he might have a problem with that. I occasionally hand off cash to him, and while we try to be discrete, someone has probably seen us at least once. If someone put 2+2 together, it could be uncomfortable to say the least. I think that if he sits in my game again, I'll just pay him off, and either take my chances with a short bankroll or move down.

Your comments sought.

Peace,

3322 K

05-30-2002, 07:58 AM
He has a big advantage against the rest of the field AND YOU when he's in your game Mr. Treys-Up. If you're splitting your wins 50-50, for example, he's getting much better pot odds whenever you are involved in a hand.

Winning or losing against him has exactly the same effect on my bottom line as winning or losing the same amount against any other player